Forum Hosting  

Go Back   Forum Hosting > IPB Support > IPB General Support > ForumForFree.com Support

ForumForFree.com Support Support of ForumForFree customers


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2007, 11:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Forumer
 
Ecalpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006

Posts: 63
Rep Power: 3 Ecalpon is on a distinguished road
fTrader: (0)
fBuck$: 489.0
Bank: 777.7
Total fBuck$: 1,266.7

My Forumer
My Country:
Thumbs up Ahhhh Caught one!

FYI:

Just by chance logged into my site to find it extremely slow, but once in I found 18 users browsing the site. "Strange I thought, so many and it's so slow." So I took a closer look.

Strange out of the 18 connections 13 were from the 66.48.69.* IP block. In my 20+ years of dealing with the net, this is unheard of. So I traced them back. and found they are all coming from the same ISP, again very strange. Only one thing looks like this and that's a DOS attack.

So using what I have in my arsenal, I did some checking and found that the first 6 IP's I looked at were running an unprotected computer. Ok I thought, I got you.....

Looking back one hop I found every one of the connections were going through 1 system. So here is the info on the trigger man.

IP 205.150.4.164
Domain: www.theglobeandmail.com
Subdomain/ User: bob.globeandmail.com
Location: North York "just east of Toronto" Canada

What you choose to do with this information is up to you, but at least now you know from where and who to look at.

I have banned the 66.48.69.* IP block and noticed a slight change in the response of the system. I would suggest that short term you other Admins do the same.
Ecalpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Forumer
 
Ecalpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006

Posts: 63
Rep Power: 3 Ecalpon is on a distinguished road
fTrader: (0)
fBuck$: 489.0
Bank: 777.7
Total fBuck$: 1,266.7

My Forumer
My Country:
Default Re: Ahhhh Caught one!

UPDATE!

This guy also may be using a Yahoo server under the 74.6.*.* IP block as a chack shows several accounts at yahoo all starting with the letters "Lj" are also reporting back to the 205.150.4.164 IP
Ecalpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 12:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Forumer
 
BadBoy0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006

Posts: 229
Rep Power: 3 BadBoy0 is on a distinguished road
fTrader: (0)
fBuck$: 1,952.0
Bank: 0.0
Total fBuck$: 1,952.0

My Forumer
My Country:
Default Re: Ahhhh Caught one!

I've done that before but the slowdown issues and "too many connections" errors have been affecting all the forums on the s2 and s3 FFF IPB servers for months. There was a fix done in early March that worked and maintained good performance for almost a month - so I suggest that fix be done again and regularly as part of maintenance? In any case its a server issue, not an individual forum one.
BadBoy0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 12:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Forumer
 
Ecalpon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006

Posts: 63
Rep Power: 3 Ecalpon is on a distinguished road
fTrader: (0)
fBuck$: 489.0
Bank: 777.7
Total fBuck$: 1,266.7

My Forumer
My Country:
Default Re: Ahhhh Caught one!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadBoy0 View Post
I've done that before but the slowdown issues and "too many connections" errors have been affecting all the forums on the s2 and s3 FFF IPB servers for months. There was a fix done in early March that worked and maintained good performance for almost a month - so I suggest that fix be done again and regularly as part of maintenance? In any case its a server issue, not an individual forum one.
Granted, what ever the hole is that is being used, needs to be fixed. But what your overlooking is an attack on one forum is not the issue. An attack on one is an attack on every site on that server with that security hole. Once they find one they will soon find the other servers and expand the attack. So it's not an attack on me or you, it's an attack on the server and the software.
Ecalpon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Forumer
 
BadBoy0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006

Posts: 229
Rep Power: 3 BadBoy0 is on a distinguished road
fTrader: (0)
fBuck$: 1,952.0
Bank: 0.0
Total fBuck$: 1,952.0

My Forumer
My Country:
Default Re: Ahhhh Caught one!

I noted a large number of "guests" yesterday and today from the 74.6.* IP block range too. I found those are a yahoo webcrawler, so probably just a search engine. I don't think they are a problem, just perhaps showing a symptom of the FFF server problem - perhaps it needs more bandwidth or something to handle a lot of users and search engine accesses? The main forumer servers don't seem to have this problem?
BadBoy0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2007, 07:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Forumer
 
BadBoy0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006

Posts: 229
Rep Power: 3 BadBoy0 is on a distinguished road
fTrader: (0)
fBuck$: 1,952.0
Bank: 0.0
Total fBuck$: 1,952.0

My Forumer
My Country:
Default Re: Ahhhh Caught one!

I added the 74.6.* IP block for a test to my forum's ban list earlier today, but right now I'm still getting the "too many connections" error message so that has little or no effect. This is the same issue that has been happening for months, so its the servers that need some work to solve it as was done early in March before.
BadBoy0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ahhhh! wth stupid admin panel thingy!grrr majorchoas phpBB2 Bug Reports 8 08-14-2005 07:19 PM
Ahhhh! imported_MasTaFUsion IPB General Support 1 02-22-2004 05:30 AM